Posted by: iamlillian | November 14, 2008

My last shift

This morning was my last shift as an Enrolled nurse in R6.

Reflecting on the past 1 year and 6 months, i am just so grateful to God that i was given the priviledge to work in R6.

It’s been a really rewarding ♥ time learning and experiencing clinical nursing in R6. There were happy 🙂 moments, sad moments, busybusy moments…

It has taught me time management, people relations skills, setting priority, communication, reacting in emergency situation, coping with stress, etc… Most importantly, it made me more confident ♥  of my words and actions.

It’s been a joy working with a good bunch of nurses. Each of them contributed to my growth in some ways. Words of affirmation, words of encouragement…little little verbal acknowledgement, even just a ‘hello’ or a smile that lifts a soul. =)

Recalling my interview…my first shift…my first night duty…my first relieving shift…my first code blue…

ahh…i thank God for seeing me through the ups and downs…for being so faithful and merciful.

My colleagues have made my last day memorable and meaningful. Just words of blessing and encouragement…mean a lot to me. I’ve been wearing a smile whole day long. It ended well. Praise God for He is good.

They gave me a flower & a card with messages that just touch my heart….

“Goodluck! If you can survice R6, you can survive anywhere!”

“..you will make a fantastic RN and it would be a real pleasure to work with you”

“…it’s been great having you on board”

“…you are a great nurse”

“all the Best Lillian. We hope our paths cross again”

“Wishing you could stay. Been great working with you”

“i’ll miss you so much! All the Best”

 

Responses

  1. I remember my last shift on the ambulance… moving on in a career that was to involve caring for people in ways that I never imagined…

    One thing I would say for you as a nurse (and any other care providers who might read this…) …

    Please, please… learn how to take good care of yourselves. Good stress management habits, a healthy lifestyle… stimulating friendships… all important to a long and happy career.

    For more on stress management, see:
    http://www.christian-life-coaching.org/stress-management.html

    All the best,

    – James T.

  2. Thank you, James for the advice. You made my day! I just woke up 03:50am…going on plane later. I realised how important it is to take care of ourselves both physically and mentally. 🙂 May God continue to use you to bless others! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

