Posted by: iamlillian | November 23, 2008

Meditating…

Thank You, Father God, for yesterday’s OCF Exco leadership retreat. Thank You for giving me this priviledge to serve You, Lord. Thank You for Your unfailing love and Your ever-faithfulness to me through all these years. Thank You for once again You have spoken into my heart. Thank You for seeking me and pursuing me all these while. Thank You for You have not abandoned me. Thank You for reconciling me. Thank You for blessing me with my brothers & sisters in Christ, who are great encouragers & comforters of Yours, Lord.

‘As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.’ – Proverbs 27:17

Refine me, O Lord… i invite you Lord, to come and live inside of me…Break me & mould me. I want to surrender to You daily. Help me, O Lord…to be deeply rooted in Your Word. Help me to know You more each day. 

 I call you ‘Lord’, may i really be submissive to Your Lordship.

Teach me, Lord, to meditate day & night on Your Word. May Your Name be lifted High~

A Prayer for the Ephesians

 14 For this reason I kneel before the Father, 15 from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name. 16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

 20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Prayer Goal #1 Rooted and Grounded in Love

We must be rooted and grounded in love. In other words, to seek God’s love in its fullness, we must in some way know and experience that love already in our lives. Just as in real life, we must have a solid base to jump from. We do not jump from nothing to everything. We need a sure foundation before we go on. I don’t particularly teach a two step salvation, but this passage would affirm it if we believed it. The grounding in God’s love comes from salvation faith in which Christ dwells in our hearts. If this passage is saying anything, it says we are not to be merely content with loving one another. This of course is good and desirable. It is the foundation.

ephe 

 

Prayer Goal #2 Comprehend and know the love of Christ

But we must go on then focusing on loving one another. We are to love God with all our heart, soul, mind and strength. We are to comprehend the breadth and length and height and depth and to know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge that we as His people might be filled up to all the fullness of God. There are two main points.

  • To Comprehend the love of Christ
    This very clearly speaks about the largeness of knowing Christ’s love. Evidently, it speaks of a revealed love greater than we encounter during our time of salvation. It is this point it seems a second experience. The breadth, length, height and depth are the dimensions of Christ’s love. No matter the largeness of Christ’s love, we should note that we can by God’s grace reach a fair comprehension of this love.

  • To Know the love of Christ
    Knowing Christ is not a mere intellectual knowledge of Christ’s love. It is the ultimate experience of experiencing His love. It is as if our eyes are opened, the flood gates of our hearts are totally down, and our heart is surrounded with the very love of Christ.

The goal is to be so filled up with Christ that there is no room for anything besides Him. There is no other object or person that would catch our heart’s attention. We would be so enraptured with His love that we would be “filled up to all the fullness of God.”

A prayer…

Break forth O God, in your power, and show forth your love which is greater than knowledge that I with the saints might be filled up to all the fullness of God.

My heart is empty and void. It longs for your fullness. Please strip clean my heart from all impurities by the blood of Christ. Let me be like a bride perfectly desirous for the coming of her bridegroom. I have no way to bring this about. I am empty but desirous. I have no power to do what I ask, but only to ask and to wait for your glorious filling of that which I long intensely for. Without this filling, You will not be glorified as Your great Name deserves to be praised.

My mouth stumbles in its speech; my language poor in its grammar; my education greatly lacking. But you are the One who does exceedingly abundant things. My request is given in ignorance, but, it asks that it might receive what You know as best, divine and most needful in this frail body for the greater purpose of obtaining great glory for Your own Name. I am your vessel; use me. I am your clay pot; mold me. I am your servant; send me.

I wait now for you. I anticipate Your work in my feeble life. Fill me with Christ’s love. Amen.

-excerpt from http://www.foundationsforfreedom.net/Topics/Love/Love014.html

Sin and its ways grow old
All of my heart turns to stone
And I’m left with no strength to arise
How You need to be lifted high

Sin and its ways lead to pain
Left here with hurt and with shame
So no longer will I leave your side
Jesus, you be lifted high

Chorus*  You be lifted high
You be lifted high
You be lifted high in my life
Oh God
And I fall to my knees
So it’s you that they see
Not I
Jesus, you be lifted high *

And even now that I’m inside your hands
Help me not to grow prideful again
Don’t let me forsake sacrifice
Jesus you be lifted high

And if I’m blessed with the riches of kings
How could I ever think that it was me
For you brought me from darkness to light
Jesus, you be lifted high

(Chorus x2)

Leave a Reply

Categories

