Posted by: iamlillian | May 14, 2010

lemon tree

Thanking God for another good day at work. Today i worked at 6G, RPH. A vascular ward.

One of my patients, Mr. J just got admitted to the ward this evening. He is in his 60’s. 

He came in with a nasty infection of wound to his right foot.  His left leg was amputated from below knee. secondary of diabetes mellitus. And he was an inpatient of that ward some months ago. So most of the staff remembered him and came to say hi.

 I was changing his foot dressing while he was telling me stories. He had so many stories to share including his trips to Malaysia, Singapore, Japan, HK…almost round the world and how he met different people and made penpals. He also had a great sense of humour. He’s a person that choose to be happy and feeling contented despite his health condition is deteriorating. I really admire his positive attitude and cheerfulness. And that’s what makes nursing meaningful and fulfilling.

and on my way driving home on the freeway, SonShine.fm was playing an old familiar song, Lemon Tree. A one-hit-song band called Fool’s Garden back in my school days. It was a good feeling singing along of the chorus part. lol.

Chorus:

I wonder how
I wonder why
Yesterday you told me ’bout the blue blue sky (my fav part)
And all that I can see is just a yellow lemon-tree
I’m turning my head up and down
I’m turning turning turning turning turning around
And all that I can see is just another lemon-tree

i guess when life gives you lemon, you just need to learn to make lemonade out of it, as the saying goes.

oh, there's actually a lemon tree in the house backyard 😛

Glad it’s weekend again! Yeah! 50-50 i might get a shift tomorrow. let’s see. Also, counting down to another mini-break – heading home sweet home with sis this coming Tuesday. Mummy, here i come!

it’s so cold now and i would stick my hands under my bottom to warm them up before i type again. Icy fingers..brrrr….

wish i have a heater now…even better if the heated-toilet seat from Japan can be made available here.

goodnight,

L

Leave a Reply

Categories

