Posted by: iamlillian | July 25, 2010

For the Audience of One

Just got back from choir practice. Just in time for the announcement of the Next Australia Masterchef.

Three cheers for Adam! 😀 Callum did well too!

my church choir has been practising beautiful hymns together with choirs from another church for the past few weeks for the upcoming Rev. Dr. Stephen Tong evangelistic rally ‘Faith and Life transformation’ in August here in Perth. Read more about him by just googling. It will be 3 continuous evening 16-18th August at Baptist Community College, 497 Marmion Street, Booragoon, WA. See you there!! 😀

These are some of the glorious songs we will be presenting.

Wash me thoroughly – composed by Wesley S.S based on Psalm 51:2-3 

2 Wash away all my iniquity
       and cleanse me from my sin.

 3 For I know my transgressions,
       and my sin is always before me.

 In ‘ Wash me throughly’  ( c.1840), for four-part choir with treble solo, Wesley uses chromaticism to express a longing for Christ’s taking away of guilt. The piece is in a clear ternary form, but the theme of the contrapuntal middle section returns in the modified repeat of the opening; the coda is an oddly unpredictable succession of slow chords. – link

It is quite a challenging song for soprano nonetheless it conveys a deep genuine longing to be pure before the Holy God. A song of anguish and passion. I am drawn to the opening phrase performed by the soloist which paints a very clear picture of a very burdened soul coming before the Almighty Holy One to seek His face.

Hear my prayer (O for the wings of a dove)wiki

Laudate Dominium (Mozart) – I love this! Laudate Dominum are the opening words of Psalm 116 (Greek numbering) or 117 (Hebrew numbering) in Latin. It means ‘Praise the Lord’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

